Blog Details

Robbery laws in North Carolina

In North Carolina, robbery is considered a theft where there is a victim involved. The state puts robbery into three different categories: with a deadly weapon, train, and common law. All of these crimes are felonies. Robbery with a deadly weapon and train robbery are determined by state statute, but common law robbery is generally accepted in courts as someone taking another person’s property through the threat of force, intimidation, or actual violence.

Robberies with a dangerous weapon and train robberies are considered Class D felonies. If convicted, punishment for this type of felony for a person with no prior convictions can range from 51 to 64 months. All Class D felony convictions require an active punishment, meaning the defendant must serve a prison sentence. Those who aid and abet the commission of this crime are also subject to these penalties.

All robberies that fall under common law are considered Class G felonies. These felonies can be punished with an intermediate or active punishment between 10 to 13 months. Intermediate punishments requires supervised probation while the active punishment will result in prison time. Those with previous convictions may be subject to harsher penalties.

People accused of committing any type of robbery may benefit from representation from an attorney who practices criminal law as soon as possible. It’s the lawyer’s responsibility to make sure that the government upholds the constitutional rights of their client in regards to the collection of evidence, interrogations, and a variety of other factors. The attorney may then recommend a strategy based on the strength of the government’s case. While going to trial is an option, it may be in the best interest of the client to make a plea agreement with the state government.

Recent Posts