Weapon On Educational Property
With violence at school an ever-present threat and deadly shootings occurring even in elementary schools, school districts and North Carolina state officials have cracked down on individuals who bring weapons onto school property—including the students themselves. Read our message to parents here.
Most schools prominently display signs stating that guns are prohibited. Penalties for people who bring weapons into a school building or on school grounds range from a Class 1 Misdemeanor (maximum of 120 days in jail) to a Class G Felony (maximum of 47 months in prison).
What You Need to Know About Possession of a Weapon on School Property
Weapons prohibited on school property include:
- BB Guns,
- Air Rifles,
- Cutting instruments,
- Cutting tools,
- Brass knuckles,
- Explosives, and/or
- Any other tool, instrument or implement capable of inflicting serious bodily injury.
The areas where you are prohibited from bringing weapons are the buildings, grounds, athletic fields, recreational areas, school buses or any other vehicle that will take children to or from a school.
The schools covered are:
- All public or private school elementary, middle, or high school,
- All community colleges, and
- All public or private colleges and universities
What to Do If You Are Charged
If you are charged with possessing a weapon on school property, you will need to retain an experienced criminal defense attorney very quickly. As with most criminal charges, you should not talk to the police or prosecutors without your attorney by your side. What you say can be taken out of context and used against you. If the police question you, tell them you want a lawyer and politely refuse to answer their questions.
What Your Lawyer Can Do
Your attorney will examine the issues in your case, such as determining:
- If you have any Constitutional or statutory protections for possessing the weapon and/or
- Whether the alleged weapon is actually a weapon, as defined by North Carolina state law.
At Greenwood Law, our attorneys will look at every avenue that can help you, so it’s important that you give them all of the information that can support your case.
How A Lawyer Will Help
When you are up against a possession of a weapon on school property charge, you will be caught in a “hot button” issue. The police, school officials and prosecutor will provide passionate and determined opposition. You may even be facing a firestorm of bad publicity. You need a defense attorney to help you achieve the best outcome for your situation. Contact Greenwood Law by calling 336-794-6138 or filling out our online contact form for your free consultation with one of our attorneys.
Recent Blog Posts
North Carolina has established several recovery courts designed to help offenders who struggle with substance abuse and related issues. Often, individuals who qualify can obtain expungement or...
Drug trafficking in North Carolina carries some of the harshest penalties of any crime in the state. Each allegation, if convicted, carries with it severe mandatory minimum prison sentences and high...
On June 10, 2020 the Second Chance Act, dubbed the “clean slate” bill, passed in the House 119-0. This act expands expungement eligibility for nonviolent criminal convictions and allows certain...