When an individual gets convicted of a DUI, the consequences may vary depending on the location of the incident, record of past offenses, and the details around the case. In North Carolina, factors such as BAC level and whether there was a crash involved are considered by a judge when determining the consequences of a DUI, whereas in other states the number of past offenses is the sole factor that determines the penalties. For this reason, possible defenses and procedures are a bit different in North Carolina, so those accused of a DUI should prioritize finding a lawyer familiar with laws in the state.
Here are some of the possible outcomes of a DUI conviction, depending on how serious the situation is. Note that DUIs are categorized as Level 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 misdemeanors, with Level 1 being the most serious offence and Level 5 considered the most minor:
- Fine ranging from $200 (for a Level 5 misdemeanor) to $4,000 (for a Level 1 misdemeanor)
- Between 24 hours and two years in jail
- Community service or impounding of vehicle (these can be given in lieu of jail time in the case of Level 3, 4, and 5 misdemeanors)
- Temporary revocation of license
In addition to the consequences handed down by a judge, North Carolina drivers will likely experience a significant increase in their insurance premiums following a DUI conviction. In fact, North Carolina drivers experience an average 330% increase in insurance premiums following a DUI conviction. Moreover, DUIs are never removed from a person’s record, though the “lookback period” considered in sentencing has a seven year cap. Talking to a lawyer about options for fighting against DUI charges, or minimizing the misdemeanor level if a conviction takes place, is a good idea for people accused of a DUI in the state.